Why satellite radio will leave terrestrial radio behind in 2011..

For most of my life, music has been at the forefront of entertainment and I like many others grew up listening to the radio.  I can remember listening to Kasey Kasam’s American Top 40 on a Sunday morning with my family and the King Biscuit Flower Hour on a Saturday night with my friends.  Radio was all we had and we were okay with that.  It was our connection to the happenings in the world both locally and nationally.

As music evolved throughout the decades so did technology.  Gone are the long-playing disk (LP), the 8-Track Tape, the cassette tape, and the CD… no wait, not yet anyway!  As the record industry grew and so did the demand for music.  It was the era of  “instant gratification.”  Nobody wanted to wait to listen to music on the radio so they turned to other options like iTunes.  Then there it was, satellite radio.  Now satellite radio had been around since the early 90’s but it wasn’t readily available until the mid to late 2000’s.  When I got my first satellite radio in 2005 I couldn’t believe that I had to pay to listen to something that I could listen to for free on the radio.  As I continued to listen things began to change but I couldn’t figure out what it was.  There was something distinctly different between the song I heard on a local radio station, versus the same song i heard on satellite radio.  It finally dawned on me, there were no commercials.. and the song was not being edited!  It was the rendition the artist wanted us to hear.  The version we would get if we chose to buy it on CD or download it from iTunes.  This made my subscription fees much more tolerable and easier to swallow.

As the years progressed I was finding myself more and more engrossed in satellite radio whether it was in the car, in the office, on the iPhone or even on my HDTV.  I was obsessed, I still am obsessed!  I can’t imagine life without satellite radio.  It used to be my new vehicle had to include air conditioning, and it still does, but now it needs to include satellite radio.

So where does this leave us in 2011?  I believe as more content becomes available, and more vehicles are factory equipped with satellite radio and more and more apps appear for just about every platform out there, satellite will begin to pull away and leave it’s predecessor terrestrial radio behind…

About Jeff Talento

LesMills BODYPUMP™ Instructor | Utica Comets | Florida Gators | Buffalo Bills | NJ Devils | A7X | Snapchat: jeffcny

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

